Governance of the Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich

The Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich is coordinated and advised by the following committees: Board of Trustees, Board of Directors and the CCCZ Clinical Program Committees.

Board of Trustees of the Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich

The Board of Trustees is composed of the Director of Research and Education (USZ), the Director of University Medicine Zurich (UZH), one delegate from Balgrist University Hospital or the University Children’s Hospital Zurich (in four-year rotation) and the Chair of the CCCZ. The Board of Trustees is responsible for monitoring and reviewing the strategic planning of the CCCZ.

Board of Directors of the Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich

The eight-member CCCZ Board of Directors is comprised of the Chair, Director Clinical Program, Director Clinical Trials, Director Basic Research, Director Translational Research Programs, Director Outreach and Education, Director Technologies, and Director Bioinformatics. The Board of Directors is responsible for the strategic development and operation of the CCCZ as a center of excellence in experimental and clinical cancer research and clinical care at the Zurich site for the benefit of patients and society.

Organization of the CCCZ Clinical Program

The organization of the CCCZ Clinical Program is ensured by the Governing Body, the Board of Directors and the Data Management Team.

The governing body is responsible for defining and implementing the goals of the Clinical Program and assisting the organ centers in fulfilling their responsibilities.

The Board of Directors is composed of representatives of the USZ Medical Directorate, the organ centers and oncological cross-sectional subjects. It is responsible for defining and evaluating the goals of the organ centers and deciding on the inclusion or establishment of additional organ centers.

The Data Management Team supports the quality and data management as well as the execution of clinical studies.


Scientific Advisory Board

Composed of international leaders in cancer medicine and research the Scientific Advisory Board guides and evaluates the governance, organization, scientific performance, and strategic direction of CCCZ.

Current members:

Sir Prof. Alex Markham, Professor of Medicine and Director of the MRC Medical Bioinformatics Centre in Leeds, UK (Chair)

Prof. Angelika Eggert, Director Department of Pediatrics, Department of Oncology and Hematology, Charite, Berlin, Germany

Prof. Margaret Frame, Professor of Cancer Research, Director: Institute of Genetics and Cancer, Cancer Center Edinburgh, UK

Prof. Stefan Fröhling, Director Translational Oncology, National Center for Tumor Diseases, Heidelberg, Germany

Prof. Yolande Lievens, Chair of Department, Radiation Oncology, CRIG, Gent University, Belgium

Prof. Andreas Mackensen, Director Hematology and Medical Oncology, University Hospital Erlangen, Germany

Prof. Kjetil Tasken, Director Institute of Cancer Research (ICR), Professor Oslo Univ. Hospital (OUH), Norway